Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
AzLA Book Awards

View the Previous Service and Book Award Recipients.

Grand Canyon Reader Awards

The purpose of these awards is to stimulate the interest of young readers in outstanding literature written primarily for them. An additional aim of the award is to encourage cooperation among administrators, library media specialists, and teachers in broadening the reading programs at all levels. Since 1977, these awards have had a place among the national children's literature awards.

Ten (10) books are nominated for each of the four categories:

  • Picture books
  • Intermediate books
  • Tween books
  • Non-fiction books

Starting in 2008, a new category for recommended teen books was created, but it is a voting optional category. A separate Web site has been developed to promote the awards. It lists lesson plans, book talks, book reviews and other helpful links.

Visit for more information.


To be eligible for nomination, a book must:

  • Be a title most often read or requested by children.
  • Have a strong appeal for the age group for which the nomination is made
  • Have been published in English within the previous five years and still in print

GCRA Committee Contacts

Co-Chair: Shirley Berow

Co-Chair: Kerrlita Westrick

Sign In

AzLA Newsletter

AzLA Board Meeting: In-Person

AzLA Board Meeting-Online

AzLA Board Meeting: In-Person

AzLA Board Meeting-Online

AzLA Board Meeting: In-Person